Staying open, but slowing down


I’ll get the submission guidelines updated to reflect this within the next couple of days, but here’s the thing:  Backlog will be updated once a week sometime between Saturday and Tuesday, due to various life things that could interfere with even that the new “did aliens eat it?” is going to be if two whole weekends go by without anything showing up.

The site is staying open for the foreseeable future, but the way Amazon‘s review policies are changing lately I may close down simply because it won’t be worth the bother; this site isn’t where the meat of the promotion for your books comes from and never will be — how many people actually pay attention to review blogs?!  The meat of this site’s benefits to people are the Amazon and Goodreads reviews, and the former probably twice as much as the latter.  There may come a day when our reviews are being pulled from Amazon or being rejected out of hand and when that day comes the site will close.  I shan’t delete it, but the forms will go away and the backlog will remain as it was.

One thought on “Staying open, but slowing down

  1. Reading your posts has given me a glimpse of how competitive the indie book market is. I applaud your resilience and determination to do what you love even when the world tries to suck the joy out of doing it. I recently submitted my book “Squirrels & Puppies” to Barnes & Noble’s to be considered for sale in their stores. Their site said that the process would take six weeks. I prepared for a nail-biting, bittersweet wait. They kicked it out in less than six days. Instead of consideration, they sent me a form letter explaining that even though they acknowledged the “freedom” of indie publishing, they don’t carry indie books without EXCEPTIONAL reviews and buzz. My book had a 4.5 star rating on Amazon at the time. The strange thing is if I had more of those things, I wouldn’t be contacting them to begin with. They’d be contacting me. The lesson: don’t contact Barnes & Noble about carrying your indie book in their store. They’ll call you.

    So, yeah, it’s rough in the indie world, and I guess, I’m just venting, but I still appreciate that you care enough about indie authors to help out. I know authors like myself don’t always make it easy.

Comments are closed.